Your vote will shape our future

LibDem Logo with Text

Council News

Home / Council News

Houses of Parliament Picture

Lancashire Devolution Proposals

Currently, Lancashire comprises two unitary authorities (Blackburn with Darwen and Blackpool) and Lancashire County Council (LCC), (made up of 12 District Councils – Burnley, Chorley, Fylde, Hyndburn, Lancaster, Pendle, Preston, Ribble Valley, Rossendale, South Ribble, West Lancashire and Wyre).

When it comes to securing Government funding for growth, transport links and similar each unitary council and district council promotes it’s needs through LCC to the government.

The government, reasonably so, wishes to control this by only talking to three bodies which would comprise the two unitary authorities and Lancahire County Council which would then have the authority to implement changes if they wish.

Whilst seemingly a reasonable approach it may mean that the individual needs of the 12 district councils are not sufficiently represented to the detriment of their residents.

Furthermore each district council’s responsibilities for housing, planning and economic growth could be transferred away from the district locality to Preston.

The LibDems were instrumental in creating and driving forward the Localism Act of 2011 which ensured that local residents were more responsible for what happens in their area.

We continue to believe that local needs should be determined by local democratically elected councils (Have you seen how long it takes LCC to complete roadworks in our area now !)

If all decisions and actions are taken away from us then we dread to think what our town will be like in the years to come!

Burnley used to have it’s own Local Police Force, Electricity Works, Gas Works, Water Supply Company & Reservoirs, Education Board etc. etc. and what a great town this used to be !

Contact us with your thoughts as to how you feel this decision should proceed.